I’m 31 years old and afraid of the dark. Night terrifies me. I’m going to bring it back to when I was a child. I had immense separation anxiety. I would ball my eyes out if my mother left my side. I even went to camp once and my mom offered to give me benadryl. I’m not saying that was the reason this started, but it started my addiction habits. I must have been 8 and I knew exactly the feeling of being lulled to sleep by medicine – drowning out the noises and fears. Fast forward to college, sophomore year. My roommates bullied me into going to Cancun for a vacation, I had no idea that would lead to┬áthe unveiling of my addiction formed many, many years ago.

Leave a Reply

